Ohio Minor in Possession Laws

Online Alcohol Class offers the most comprehensive online MIP classes available in Ohio. We offer Level 1 (8 hour), Level 2 (16 hour), and Level 3 (24 hour) online Minor in Possession and Minor in Consumption Classes.

Often students and parents call our offices to ask about the MIP laws in Ohio. As a courtesy, we've compiled the laws from every U.S. state and listed them below.

Please note that the Ohio MIP laws shown below are meant to help help you to understand your local Ohio laws. While we have tried to show the most up-to-date version of Ohio MIP laws, but we cannot guarantee its accuracy. This information is not a substitute for legal advice from an attorney. It is in your best interest that you find a qualified lawyer for more information about Ohio minor in possession laws.

Ohio Minor In Possession Laws

Ohio Underage Possession of Alcohol

Possession is prohibited WITH THE FOLLOWING EXCEPTION(S):

  • Parent/guardian
  • OR spouse

Ohio Underage Consumption of Alcohol

Consumption is prohibited WITH THE FOLLOWING EXCEPTION(S):

  • Parent/guardian
  • OR spouse

Ohio Internal Possession by Minors

Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited.

Ohio Underage Purchase of Alcohol

Purchase is prohibited, but youth MAY PURCHASE for law enforcement purposes.

Furnishing Alcohol to Minors in Ohio

Furnishing is prohibited WITH THE FOLLOWING EXCEPTION(S):

  • Parent/guardian
  • OR spouse

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Servers and Bartenders in Ohio

Beer: 19 for both servers and bartenders

Wine: 19 for servers and 21 for bartenders

Spirits: 19 for servers and 21 for bartenders

Notes: Although employees must be at least 21 years old in order to sell spirits, wine or mixed beverages across a bar, employees of any permit holder may sell beer across a bar if they are at least 19 years old.

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Sellers of Alcoholic Beverages in Ohio

Beer: 18

Wine: 18

Spirits: 18

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol in Ohio

Provision(s) targeting minors:

  • Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense
  • Penalty may include driver's license suspension through an administrative procedure

Provision(s) targeting suppliers:

  • It is a criminal offense to lend, transfer, or sell a false ID
  • It is a criminal offense to manufacture or distribute a false ID

Provision(s) targeting retailers:

  • State provides incentives to retailers who use electronic scanners that read birthdate and other information digitally encoded on valid identification cards
  • Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21 and older
  • Specific affirmative defense - the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid

Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) Limits and Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles in Ohio

BAC limit: 0.02 - a BAC level above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation.

Applies to drivers under age 21.

Ohio Retail Sales: Keg Registration

Registration is not required.

Ohio Underage Driving Privileges: Use/Lose

No use/lose law.

Prohibitions Against Hosting Underage Drinking Parties in Ohio

Ohio has two Social Host laws:

The first Social host law is not specifically limited to underage drinking parties.

Action by underage guest that triggers violation: Possession Consumption

Property type(s) covered by liability law:

  • Residence
  • Outdoor
  • Other

Standard for hosts' knowledge or action regarding the party: KNOWLEDGE - host must have actual knowledge of the occurrence

Exception(s):

  • Family

The second Social host law is not specifically limited to underage drinking parties.

Action by underage guest that triggers violation: Consumption

Property type(s) covered by liability law:

  • Other

Standard for hosts' knowledge or action regarding the party: NEGLIGENCE - host knew or should have known of the event's occurrence (in legal terminology this is referred to as "constructive knowledge")

Exception(s):

  • Family

Notes: In addition to the restrictions imposed on owners or occupants of public or private places, Ohio's provision regarding property states that no person shall engage or use accommodations at a hotel, inn, cabin, campground, or restaurant when the person knows or has reason to know that beer or intoxicating liquor will be consumed by an underage person on the premises. Owners or occupants of public or private places are held to a knowledge standard, while those who engage or use accommodations at a hotel, inn, cabin, campground, or restaurant are held to a negligence standard.

Register Now