North Carolina Minor in Possession Laws

Online Alcohol Class offers the most comprehensive online MIP classes available in North Carolina. We offer Level 1 (8 hour), Level 2 (16 hour), and Level 3 (24 hour) online Minor in Possession and Minor in Consumption Courses.

Often students and parents call us to ask about the MIP laws in North Carolina. As a courtesy, we've compiled the laws from every U.S. state and listed them below.

Please note that the North Carolina minor in possession laws shown on this page are meant to help help you to understand your local North Carolina laws. While we have tried to show the most up-to-date version of North Carolina MIP laws, but we cannot guarantee its accuracy. This information is not a substitute for legal advice from a lawyer. It is in your best interest that you find a qualified attorney for more information about North Carolina minor in possession laws.

North Carolina Minor In Possession Laws

North Carolina Underage Possession of Alcohol

Possession is prohibited with NO EXCEPTIONS

North Carolina Underage Consumption of Alcohol

Consumption is prohibited with NO EXCEPTIONS

North Carolina Internal Possession by Minors

Internal possession is prohibited with NO EXCEPTIONS

North Carolina Underage Purchase of Alcohol

Purchase is prohibited and there is NO ALLOWANCE for youth purchase for law enforcement purposes

Furnishing Alcohol to Minors in North Carolina

Furnishing is prohibited with NO EXCEPTIONS

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Servers and Bartenders in North Carolina

Beer: 18 for both servers and bartenders

Wine: 18 for both servers and bartenders

Spirits: 18 for servers and 21 for bartenders

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Alcohol Sellers in North Carolina

Beer: Not Specified

Wine: Not Specified

Spirits: 18

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol in North Carolina

Provision(s) targeting minors:

  • Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense
  • Penalty may include driver's license suspension through a judicial procedure

Provision(s) targeting suppliers:

  • It is a criminal offense to lend, transfer, or sell a false ID

Provision(s) targeting retailers:

  • State provides incentives to retailers who use electronic scanners that read birthdate and other information digitally encoded on valid identification cards
  • Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21 and older
  • Retailers are permitted to seize apparently false IDs
  • Specific affirmative defense - the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid

Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) Limits and Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles in North Carolina

BAC limit: 0.00 - any detectable alcohol in the blood is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation

Applies to drivers under age 21

North Carolina Retail Sales: Keg Registration

Keg definition: 7.75 gallons or more

Prohibited:

  • Possessing an unregistered, unlabeled keg - max. fine/jail: Discretionary fine or 45 days

Purchaser information collected:

  • Purchaser's name and address
  • Verified by a government-issued ID
  • Address where keg will be consumed

Warning information to purchaser: active – purchaser action required (e.g., signature)

Deposit: not required

Provisions do not specifically address disposable kegs

North Carolina Underage Driving Privileges: Use/Lose

Type(s) of violation leading to driver's license suspension, revocation, or denial:

  • Underage purchase

Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 21

Authority to impose driver's license sanction

  • Mandatory

Length of suspension/revocation: 365 days

Prohibitions Against Hosting Underage Drinking Parties in North Carolina

No State-imposed liability for hosting underage drinking parties

Register Now