Massachusetts Minor in Possession Laws

Online Alcohol Class offers the most comprehensive MIP instruction available in Massachusetts. We offer Level 1 (8 hour), Level 2 (16 hour), and Level 3 (24 hour) online Minor in Possession and Minor in Consumption Classes.

Often students and parents call our offices to inquire about the MIP laws in Massachusetts. As a courtesy, we've compiled the laws from every U.S. state and listed them below.

Please note that the Massachusetts minor in possession laws shown on this page are intended to help help you to learn about your local Massachusetts laws. While we have tried to show the most up-to-date version of Massachusetts minor in possession laws, but we do not guarantee its accuracy. This web page is not a substitute for legal advice from a lawyer. It is in your best interest that you find a qualified attorney for more information about Massachusetts MIP laws.

Massachusetts Minor In Possession Laws

Massachusetts Underage Possession of Alcohol

Possession is prohibited WITH THE FOLLOWING EXCEPTION(S):

  • Parent/guardian

Massachusetts Underage Consumption of Alcohol

Consumption is not explicitly prohibited.

Massachusetts Internal Possession by Minors

Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited.

Massachusetts Underage Purchase of Alcohol

Purchase is prohibited and there is NO ALLOWANCE for youth purchase for law enforcement purposes.

Furnishing Alcohol to Minors in Massachusetts

Furnishing is prohibited WITH THE FOLLOWING EXCEPTION(S):

  • Parent/guardian
  • OR spouse

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Servers and Bartenders in Massachusetts

Beer: 18 for both servers and bartenders

Wine: 18 for both servers and bartenders

Spirits: 18 for both servers and bartenders

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Alcohol Sellers in Massachusetts

Beer: 18

Wine: 18

Spirits: 18

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol in Massachusetts

Provision(s) targeting minors:

  • Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense
  • Penalty may include driver's license suspension through a judicial procedure

Provision(s) targeting suppliers:

  • It is a criminal offense to lend, transfer, or sell a false ID
  • It is a criminal offense to manufacture or distribute a false ID

Provision(s) targeting retailers:

  • Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21 and older
  • Specific affirmative defense - the retailer inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable conclusion based on its appearance that it was valid

Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) Limits and Underage Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles in Massachusetts

BAC limit: 0.02 - a BAC level above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation

Applies to drivers under age 21

Massachusetts Retail Sales: Keg Registration

Keg definition: more than 2 gallons

Purchaser information collected:

  • Purchaser's name and address

Warning information to purchaser: active – purchaser action required (e.g., signature)

Deposit required: $5

Provisions do not specifically address disposable kegs

Notes: The deposit provisions in Massachusetts require that a purchaser pay the following: (a) a container fee of not less than $10.00 for each keg having a capacity of six or more gallons and of not less than $1.00 for each container having a capacity of less than six gallons; and (b) a registration fee of $10.00 for each keg having a capacity of six or more gallons and of $4.00 for each keg having a capacity of less than six gallons. The comparison tables display the minimum required amount.

Massachusetts Underage Driving Privileges: Use/Lose

Massachusetts has two Use/Lose laws:

Law 1: Type(s) of violation leading to driver's license suspension, revocation, or denial:

  • Underage possession

Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 21

Authority to impose driver's license sanction

  • Mandatory

Length of suspension/revocation: 90 days

Law 2: Type(s) of violation leading to driver's license suspension, revocation, or denial:

  • Underage purchase

Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 21

Authority to impose driver's license sanction

  • Mandatory

Length of suspension/revocation: 180 days

Prohibitions Against Hosting Underage Drinking Parties in Massachusetts

Social host law is not specifically limited to underage drinking parties

Action by underage guest that triggers violation: Possession

Property type(s) covered by liability law:

  • Residence
  • Outdoor
  • Other

Standard for hosts' knowledge or action regarding the party: KNOWLEDGE - host must have actual knowledge of the occurrence

Exception(s):

  • Family

Register Now