Indiana Minor in Possession Laws

Online Alcohol Class offers the most comprehensive underage consumption classes available in Indiana. We offer Level 1 (8 hour), Level 2 (16 hour), and Level 3 (24 hour) web-based Minor in Possession and Minor in Consumption Classes.

Often students call us to inquire about the MIP laws in Indiana. As a courtesy, we've compiled the laws from every state and listed them below.

Please note that the Indiana minor in possession laws shown below are meant to assist help you to understand your local Indiana laws. While we have tried to show the most up-to-date version of Indiana minor in possession laws, but we do not guarantee its accuracy. This web page is not a substitute for legal advice from an attorney. It is in your best interest that you find an appropriate lawyer for more information about Indiana MIP laws.

6 Hour Minor in Possession Class $124 Register Now
8 Hour (Level 1) Minor in Possession Class $149 Register Now
12 Hour Minor in Possession Class $199 Register Now
16 Hour (Level 2) Minor in Possession Class $249 Register Now
24 Hour (Level 3) Minor in Possession Class $319 Register Now
Michigan State Approved $49 Register Now

Indiana Minor In Possession Laws

Indiana Underage Possession of Alcohol

Possession is prohibited with NO EXCEPTIONS.

Indiana Underage Consumption of Alcohol

Consumption is prohibited with NO EXCEPTIONS.

Indiana Internal Possession by Minors

Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited.

Indiana Underage Purchase of Alcohol

Purchase is NOT prohibited, AND youth are explicitly permitted to purchase for law enforcement purposes.

Notes: Indiana does not have a statute that specifically prohibits purchase, but it does prohibit purchasing or attempting to purchase alcohol in connection with making a false statement or using false evidence of majority or identity. See Ind. Code ยง 7.1-5-7-1. APIS does not include laws with such limitations in the Purchase policy topic.

Furnishing Alcohol to Minors in Indiana

Furnishing is prohibited with NO EXCEPTIONS.

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Servers and Bartenders in Indiana

Beer: 19 for servers and 21 for bartenders

Wine: 19 for servers and 21 for bartenders

Spirits: 19 for servers and 21 for bartenders

Condition(s) that must be met in order for an underage person to sell alcoholic beverages:

  • manager/supervisor is present

Minimum Ages for Off-Premises Alcohol Sellers in Indiana

Beer: 19

Wine: 19

Spirits: 19

Condition(s) that must be met in order for an underage person to sell alcoholic beverages:

  • Manager/supervisor is present

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol in Indiana

Provision(s) targeting minors:

  • Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense
  • Penalty may include driver's license suspension through a judicial procedure

Provision(s) targeting suppliers:

  • It is a criminal offense to lend, transfer, or sell a false ID

Provision(s) targeting retailers:

  • Licenses for drivers under age 21 are easily distinguishable from those for drivers age 21 and older
  • General affirmative defense - the retailer came to a good faith or reasonable decision that the purchaser was 21 years or older; inspection of an identification card not required

Underage Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) Limits and Operators of Noncommercial Motor Vehicles in Indiana

BAC limit: 0.02 - a BAC level above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation.

Applies to drivers under age 21.

Indiana Retail Sales: Keg Registration

Keg definition: at least 7 3/4 gallons

Prohibited:

  • Possessing an unregistered, unlabeled keg - max. fine/jail: $1000

Purchaser information collected:

  • Purchaser's name and address
  • Verified by a government-issued ID

Warning information to purchaser: Not Required

Deposit: not required

Provisions do not specifically address disposable kegs

Indiana Underage Driving Privileges: Use/Lose

Type(s) of violation leading to driver's license suspension, revocation, or denial:

  • Underage purchase
  • Underage possession

Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 21

Authority to impose driver's license sanction

  • Mandatory

Length of suspension/revocation:

  • Minimum: 90 days
  • Maximum: 365 days

Prohibitions Against Hosting Underage Drinking Parties in Indiana

No State-imposed liability for hosting underage drinking parties.

Register Now