Online Alcohol Class offers the most comprehensive Minor in Possession instruction available in Alaska. We offer Level 1 (8 hour), Level 2 (16 hour), and Level 3 (24 hour) online Minor in Possession and Minor in Consumption Courses.
Often students call our offices to ask about the MIP laws in Alaska. As a courtesy, we've compiled the laws from every U.S. state and listed them below.
Please note that the Alaska minor in possession laws shown below are intended to help help you to understand your local Alaska laws. While we have tried to show the most up-to-date version of Alaska MIP laws, but we do not guarantee its accuracy. This web page is not a replacement for legal advice from an attorney. It is in your best interest that you find a qualified lawyer for more information about Alaska minor in possession laws.
Possession is prohibited WITH THE FOLLOWING EXCEPTION(S):
Consumption is prohibited WITH THE FOLLOWING EXCEPTION(S):
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited.
Purchase is prohibited, but youth MAY PURCHASE for law enforcement purposes.
Notes: Although the amendment creating the law enforcement exception was approved in July of 2005, the effective date for the exception was made retroactive to September 27, 2004. See 2005 Alaska Sess. Laws 72.
Furnishing is prohibited WITH THE FOLLOWING EXCEPTION(S):
Provision(s) targeting minors:
Provision(s) targeting retailers:
BAC limit: 0.00 - any detectable alcohol in the blood is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation
Applies to drivers age 14 or above
Applies to drivers under age 21
Registration is not required
No use/lose law
Social host law is not specifically limited to underage drinking parties.
Action by underage guest that triggers violation: Possession
Property type(s) covered by liability law:
Standard for hosts' knowledge or action regarding the party: KNOWLEDGE - host must have actual knowledge of the occurrence