Alabama Minor in Possession Laws

Online Alcohol Class offers the most comprehensive Minor in Possession instruction available in Alabama. We offer Level 1 (8 hour), Level 2 (16 hour), and Level 3 (24 hour) online Minor in Possession and Minor in Consumption Courses.

Often students and parents call our offices to ask about the MIP laws in Alabama. As a courtesy, we've compiled the laws from every U.S. state and listed them below.

Please note that the Alabama minor in possession laws shown on this page are intended to assist help you to understand your local Alabama laws. While we have tried to show the most up-to-date version of Alabama MIP laws, but we do not guarantee its accuracy. This web page is not a replacement for legal advice from a lawyer. It is in your best interest that you find a qualified attorney for more information about Alabama MIP laws.

Alabama Minor In Possession Laws

Alabama Underage Possession of Alcohol

Possession is prohibited with NO EXCEPTIONS.

Alabama Underage Consumption of Alcohol

Consumption is prohibited with NO EXCEPTIONS.

Alabama Internal Possession by Minors

Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited.

Alabama Underage Purchase of Alcohol

Purchase is prohibited, but youth MAY PURCHASE for law enforcement purposes.

Notes: In Alabama, the law enforcement exception to the prohibition against the underage purchase of alcohol is contained in an administrative regulation, Ala. Admin. Code r. 20-X-13-.01. APIS was only able to research this Alabama regulation back to October 16, 1998. Based on the limited availability of historic administrative regulations, APIS cannot conclude that this exception did not exist prior to this date in this or another regulation.

Furnishing Alcohol to Alabama Minors

Furnishing is prohibited with NO EXCEPTIONS.

Minimum Ages for On-Premises Servers and Bartenders in Alabama

  • Beer: 19 for servers and 21 for bartenders
  • Wine: 19 for servers and 21 for bartenders
  • Spirits: 19 for servers and 21 for bartenders

Condition(s) that must be met in order for an underage person to sell alcoholic beverages:

  • Manager/supervisor is present

Minimum Ages in Alabama for Off-Premises Sellers in Alabama

Beer: Not Specified

Wine: Not Specified

Spirits: 21

Condition(s) that must be met in order for an underage person to sell alcoholic beverages:

  • Manager/supervisor is present

Notes: A minor employee of an off-premises retail licensee may handle, transport or sell beer or table wine, provided there is an adult employee in attendance at all times.

False Identification for Obtaining Alcohol in Alabama

Provision(s) targeting minors:

  • Use of a false ID to obtain alcohol is a criminal offense
  • Penalty may include driver's license suspension through a judicial procedure

Provision(s) targeting retailers:

  • No statutory affirmative defense - statutes do not provide an affirmative defense related to retailer's belief that the minor was 21 years of age or older

Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) Limits and Underage Operators of Non-commercial Motor Vehicles in Alabama

BAC limit: 0.02 - a BAC level above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation

Applies to drivers under age 21

Alabama Retail Sales: Keg Registration

Registration is not required

Underage Driving Privileges in Alabama: Use/Lose

Type(s) of violation leading to driver's license suspension, revocation, or denial:

  • Underage purchase
  • Underage possession
  • Underage consumption

Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 21

Authority to impose driver's license sanction

  • Mandatory

Length of suspension/revocation:

  • Minimum: 90 days
  • Maximum: 180 days

Prohibitions Against Hosting Underage Drinking Parties in Alabama

Social host law is specifically limited to underage drinking parties.

Action by underage guest that triggers violation: Possession Consumption

Property type(s) covered by liability law:

  • Residence
  • Other

Standard for hosts' knowledge or action regarding the party: KNOWLEDGE - host must have actual knowledge of the occurrence

Preventive action by the host negates the violation (see note).

Notes: Alabama's provision requires that the adult social host be in attendance at the gathering or party in order for a violation to occur. The "preventive action" provision in Alabama requires the prosecution to prove that the host failed to take preventive action.

Register Now