Massachusetts DUI Laws

If you have received a DUI in the State of Massachusetts, let us help you. We provide you with the information you need to manage this situation, including info on the consequences and remedies of your case. Come and learn more.

The Law

Massachusetts DUI law states that it is unlawful for any person to operate or be in physical control of a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol, drugs or an intoxicant, is he or she has a blood alcohol level of .08% or greater.

The Penalties

  • Imprisonment: Up to 30 months in jail.
  • Fines: Between $500 and $5,000, with additional fees of $250 for assessment and $50 for the Victims Trust Fund.
  • Impact on License: Suspended for 12 months.

The Solution

You will be required to carry SR22 insurance for a period of 3 years. Final license reinstatement will not be granted until you properly file the SR22 form. Your insurance company will be able to help you with this process. It is highly recommended you speak with a trained professional in SR22 matters in order to be sure you have the right coverage.

Do not forget to complete your DUI education class for a Massachusetts offense. The court and/or state may allow you to complete the course online if you request permission. This is a simple process which puts you in the position to complete the course when you want, but more important when you have the time. Enroll, Take the Course, and Pass the Final, it really is that simple.

Register Now