Would you like to know more about Tennessee’s DUI law? If you have received a DUI then this is a great source of information. We supply you with details about the consequences and remedies of a DUI in the Volunteer State. Come and take a look for yourself.
Tennessee DUI law states that it is against the law for any person to drive a motor vehicle under the influence of alcohol or drugs, if he or she has a blood alcohol concentration level of 0.8% or greater.
- Imprisonment: Minimum of 48 hours and up to 11 months in jail.
- Fines: Between $350 and $1,500 plus court costs.
- Impact on License: Revoked for one year.
- DUI School: You will be required to attend DUI school.
- Alcohol Assessment: May be ordered to attend an alcohol treatment program.
- Ignition Interlock: May be ordered to have an ignition interlock device installed on your vehicle.
In Tennessee, the Standard DUI Course must meet the following requirements:
- All D.U.I. School Services must provide a minimum of twelve (12) hours of instruction to each student. Any student who does not complete twelve (12) hours of curriculum instruction has not completed the requirements for D.U.I. School.
- Class size must not exceed twenty-five (25) students. The number of students in a class must be based on the occupancy load approved by the Fire Marshall.
- Service recipients who do not speak English must have access to instruction in their native language or a court interpreter as defined in Rule 0940-05-39-.03(1)(j).
Tennessee DUI schools must cover the follow curriculum:
- Traffic Safety aspects of alcohol and drug use, including:
- Overview of the D.U.I. problem in Tennessee;
- Tennessee laws relevant to D.U.I.;
- Why the offenders are in school (probable cause for stopping an impaired driver);
- Relationship of blood alcohol and other drug use on driving ability;
- Techniques for avoiding driving while impaired; and
- Physiological aspects of alcohol and other drug use, including:
- Pharmacological and physical effects of alcohol and other depressants;
- Pharmacological and physical effects of other drugs;
- The potentiating effect of combining alcohol and other drugs; and
- Psychological aspects of alcohol and other drug use, including:
- Dynamics of alcohol and other drug use, abuse, and addiction, e.g., loss of control, denial, delusion, blaming, and guilt;
- The progression of addictive behavior;
- Dynamics in an alcohol and/or other drug abusive family;
- The impact of alcohol and other drug addiction on other life aspects, e.g.,
emotional, physical, professional, legal, spiritual, rational, and intellectual; and
- Local treatment resources and community support groups, e.g., Alcoholics
Anonymous, Narcotics Anonymous, and Adult Children of Alcoholics.
Sometimes students will be asked to take a longer DUI course. Alternate lengths include 16 hours and 20 hours. These programs are based on the "prime for life" curriculum and are evidenced based classes that talk about the general risk of drug and alcohol use.
To have your license reinstated, you must file an SR22 form which you can attain from your insurance provider.
You will be required to carry your SR22 insurance for a period of 3 years.
Your judge allowed you to take your DUI course online? Well then, our course fulfills all your requirements. It’s easy and you can go at your own pace. Most importantly, it’s affordable and we offer a 100% money back guarantee. Enroll today!