Maryland DUI Laws

You’ve received a DUI in the State of Maryland, right? Well worry no more because we have what you’ve been looking for—knowledge that can help you rectify this problem. We have the resources you need; learn more about the consequences and remedies of a DUI in the Old Line State.

The Law

Maryland DUI law states that an individual stopped on suspicion of driving under the influence of alcohol who has a blood alcohol level of .08% or greater will be arrested for DUI.

The Penalties

  • Imprisonment: Between 2 and 12 months in jail.
  • Fines: Up to a $1,000 fine. You may also be required to serve jail time in lieu of paying a fine.
  • Impact on License: Suspension of up to 45 days, as long as your BAC level was below .15%. If your BAC level was .15% or greater your license may be suspended for up to 90 days.
  • Alcohol Treatment: You are required to complete an alcohol treatment program.

The Solution

To have your license reinstated, you will be required to file an SR22 form. Please obtain this from your insurance provider or state regulated provider of SR 22s. This will be required for at least a 3 year period. Maryland DUI laws will be violated and you may receive extra fines and/or penalties if you fail to maintain your coverage properly.

Remember the court is going to require you to complete a DUI class in Maryland. We have created an online class that can be taken anytime you have a spare moment. No worrying about driving to a class and spending eight straight hours listening to a lecture. Our online DUI programs let you enroll, study the course materials, pass the final exam and take care of your DUI.

Register Now