Did you get a DUI in the State of Alabama? Tough spot, right? Well then, here is some information to help you out. It will better inform you and help you get out of this pickle.
Alabama DUI law states that any person is considered to be driving under the influence of alcohol or a controlled substance if his or her blood alcohol level is .08% or greater.
The Penalties for 1st Alabama DUI Conviction
- Imprisonment: Up to 1 year in jail
- Fines: Between $500 and $2,000 with an additional $100 fine that goes to the Impaired Driver’s Trust Fund.
- Impact on License: Suspended for 90-days.
- DUI School: Mandatory attendance. 1st time offenders typically are required to take a Level 1 / twelve (12) hour class. This class is designed to educate the DUI/drug offender about the risks and consequences of alcohol and other drug use.
The Penalties for 2nd DUI Conviction
- Imprisonment: 48 consecutive hours, up to 1 year, or not less than 20 days community service
- Fines: $1,000 - $5,000, plus an additional $100 fine assessed for Impaired Drivers Trust Fund
- Driver License Revocation: 1 year
The Penalties for 3rd DUI Conviction Within 5 Years
- Imprisonment: 60 days in municipal or county jail, up to 1 year (cannot be probated or suspended)
- Fines: $2,000 - $10,000, plus an additional $100 fine assessed for Impaired Drivers Trust Fund
- Driver License Revocation: 3 years
The Penalties for 4th DUI Conviction Within 5 Years
- Imprisonment: 1-10 years
- Fines:$4,000 - $10,000
- Driver License Revocation: 5 years
Note that 4th conviction is considered a Class C Felony.
To have your license reinstated, you must show proof of DUI program completion and file an SR22 form. This form is available when via your insurance carrier.
You may be able to complete an Alabama DUI program online. If you have been granted permission you may enroll whenever you are ready. Our classes are 100% online and simple to complete.